Which European Countries Don’t use the Euro?

The European Union Has 8 Members Which Use Separate Currencies

Knowing which countries in the EU (and Western Europe in general) use Euros is vital to make sure you don’t get caught with the wrong travel money at the wrong time.

Pre 1999, every country has it’s own currency. Germans used Deutschmarks, the French had Francs and so on. Now you can take a road trip covering 25 counties, and use Euros everywhere you go. This saves on those pesky exchange fees, and makes it easy to keep your spare EUR between trips and use them in a different country next time.

All that said, knowing which countries in Europe don’t use EUR is important.

Here are 10 countries (8 in the European Union and 2 outside but located close by) and the currencies they use:

10 European Countries that Don’t Use the Euro

  • Sweden: Use Swedish Krona (SEK)
  • Denmark: Use Danish Krone (DKK)
  • Poland: Use Polish Zloty (PLN)
  • Czechia: Use Czech Koruna (CZK)
  • Croatia: Use Croatian Kuna (HRK)
  • Hungary: Use Hungarian Forint (HUF)
  • Bulgaria: Use Bulgarian Lev (BGN)
  • Romania: Use Romanian Leu (RON)
  • Switzerland: Non-EU, Use Swiss Francs (CHF)
  • Liechtenstein: Non-EU, use Swiss Francs (CHF)

European Countries which do use the EUR

Countries Which Use the Euro:

  • Andorra
  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Cyprus
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Ireland
  • Italy
  • Kosovo
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Monaco
  • Montenegro
  • Netherlands
  • Portugal
  • San Marino
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Vatican City (not sure if this really counts!)

More Popular Pages in this Section:


Luggage Review